I’m definitely NOT a philosophy major…

Last semester, I took a class with my LAS cohort that definitely challenged me and forced me to think of moral issues in multiple perspectives. PHL118, or Moral Problems, was a unique class in which we discussed issues such as abortion, the death penalty, sexual morality, affirmative action, and forms of torture.

This class was definitely a tough one to wake up for, as it was an 8AM course every Tuesday and Thursday. Thankfully, my roommates are all morning people and helped me drag my booty out of my bed each morning (love you all). The majority of this class was listening to our character of a professor, Gary Fuller, lecture us on issues he felt strongly about. Once we established some background knowledge on each issue, we’d have an open class discussion. These discussions got heated at points, but we all respected each other’s opinions. Topics like abortion and same-sex marriage are tough things to talk about, so I gave major props to my classmates who spoke their minds.

I knew this class would be difficult for me because I have trouble forming strong opinions on things and I am not much of an arguer. I see each side of a topic and have trouble bashing one specific side because I just think everyone’s point of view should be respected. Unless I am extremely passionate about an issue, I will gladly listen to others’ points of view for as long as they need to talk for. At the beginning of every class discussion, my goal was to form an opinion on whatever issue we were talking about. In most cases, I could not come to strong conclusions which frustrated me. But it’s just not the person I am, I suppose?

Nonetheless, the class taught me a lot about things I’ve never thought about before. I had never actively thought about affirmative action and how prevalent it is in our world. I had preconceived notions on how I felt about abortion (haha that’s punny-preCONCEIVED notions ;)) but left with a different opinion. I definitely learned a lot in this class. It gave me the ability to think critically about important issues and how to form thoughtful opinions. So thank you, Gary. 😉

Image result for ethics

Leave a Reply

