The real question: Why?

My peers know generally who I am as a person. These people know the “what” about me. They know what I do, what I’m involved in, and what people I surround myself with. Despite that many people know my “what”, only a select few know my “why”. By this I mean that only the people closest to me understand why I do the things I do and why I am the way that I am.

In Simon Sinek’s TED Talk, “The Golden Circle” consisting of the “why”, the “what”, and the “how”. Generally, this golden circle explains how great leaders inspire action in others.

The “what” is the outermost layer of the circle. I like to call this the surface level. People know what you do.

The “how” is simply the process in which you do your “what”. What steps are taken? How is your “what” actually put into action?

But the “why” is what the outsiders never know. The why is what most people never reach. Yet, the why is the most important piece.

People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it.

To me, surface level relationships are worse than having none at all. I feel as though people settle for these faulty friendships due to a variety of reasons that I won’t get into. It frustrates me that so many people know the “what” but have no interest in knowing the “why”.

So I posed the question to myself – why do I do the things that I do? I thought about my passions, my values, the reason I am the way I am today. All of this thinking led to my own personal Why Statement.

•Inspire others to see perspective into the minds of those around them•

I want others to be able to be aware of others’ views – that is the first step. But the most important part is being aware of those views, and being able to respect their perspective whether or not you agree with it. Your values are not going to line up with every person you meet, and that is okay.

I strive to surround myself with people who have unique values (that may not necessarily line up with mine) but continue to respect them and appreciate them even more for it.

Leave a Reply

