Getting my s*** together

At the Connections Conference I attended in November (read my post about it here!), I attended a session on personal momentum and time management, presented by Jamie Brown. She provided an engaging presentation for students looking to improve their organization and time management skills.

Jamie was very upbeat, knowledgeable, and humorous. Jamie was very well-spoken and she related very well to us and understood how difficult managing time can be in college.

A few of her key tips were very helpful to me:

  1. Study hard for 25 minutes, take a 5 minute break, then every third break is 20 minutes
  2. Take 30 seconds to BREATHE and relax

I’ve always been a planner – it’s in my blood. I think ahead and I use a planner to organize major assignments, events, and due dates. But after the session, I decided to utilize my planner to the absolute fullest. I write a specific list of items to achieve on a certain day, instead of writing general things to get done. I delegate certain tasks to each day of the week, then I set a block of time just for that task. Each day is very detailed, making it easy for me to cross things off my to-do list.

Organization and time management has always been a strong suit of mine, but the tips and tricks Jamie presented only helped me to improve those skills!

 

Leave a Reply

